Some time away

Last weekend I traveled to Brisbane with the X-Man to spend a bit of time with an old friend and help celebrate her birthday. We haven’t seen each other in almost 3 years and that time was only a quick visit. We have both since had children (second for her, first for me) so it was really great to spend a few days catching up and discussing new topics.

On Friday we took the kidlets into the city on the train to visit the Museum.

And had lots of fun clowning around.

While we were there I was VERY surprised by the arrival of my beautiful sister. She, Tui, and my friend, Niki, had been organizing for months. Apparently everyone knew except for me. It was great. I never get surprises and I really cherished this one. I had such limited time in Brisbane and, already spread very thin, had no time to visit Tui on the Gold Coast. But instead she came to me!

After walking around Southbank in the rain we went home and prepared for a party! That night there was many laughs and drinks with friends, old and new, around a backyard fire.

Niki, Tui and I were the last ones standing. We only went to bed because it was 5am and we thought we should maybe get an hour or so of sleep before the kids woke up (party poopers).

On Saturday morning Tui and I went to lunch with some of my new in-laws. I must say I married into an awesome family. I have spent limited time with them but the love I feel for them is not limited at all.

And what an eclectic bunch! Everything from bikies to lawyers, it’s fantastic. So funny, kind, giving, smart, wise, thoughtful (for they are all different qualities), open and happy! I am so lucky to have so many amazing people not only in my life but in X-Man’s life too. His gonna have one hectic family tree πŸ™‚

That night we went to The Albion Comedy Club. I’ve never seen comedy live before and let me tell you… it was Freakin Awesome! Great comedians, good atmosphere, nice food, the whole package. We didn’t have enough money for the $30 steaks, though they looked fantastic, so instead we got the cheese platter for two which easily fed all 4 of us (Niki’s other half was with us too) with cheese to spare. Parking was a b*!ch though, just a heads up.

Sunday it was time to come home. Hubby and MIL met me at the airport. We took advantage of being in ‘the big smoke’ and went to the movies and saw Men In Black 3 (4 stars) while MIL watched the X-Man at a cousins house.

It was so great to spend some time with a close friend who is also a mum. I have a couple close female friends in my town but neither of them have kids. They both LOVE X-Man and are very involved and interested in him, but it’s still not quite the same. They haven’t ‘been there, done that’ which is incredibly comforting to hear sometimes. Also, spending some time with some older kidlets was very beneficial to me. It showed me some situations and methods I hadn’t contemplated yet.

So all in all the trip was an eye-opening, laughter-enducing success.

But I won’t be doing it again anytime soon.

Especially after the mess I came home too…..

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Some time away

  1. Tui says:

    Love you chicky babe!!!! So glad to see you blogging!

  2. Gumboots says:

    Lol. I knew Tui would be there too!!!

  3. suchwildlove says:

    That top photo is now my phone lockscreen and it makes me smile 20 times a day πŸ™‚

  4. Kirra says:

    We enjoyed having you, tui and felix around as well. Its nice to spend time with people you knew before you were a mum. you get lost in the mum world and forget who you were before.

Leave a Reply

